October 2014

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
1213141516 1718
19202122232425
2627 28293031 

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Saturday, August 15th, 2009 08:13 am
This is the basic stuff I assume as context when I post. The links are to extra info for the curious, I'm not going to assume people have read them!

I collect journals:

  • [personal profile] alias_sqbr is the default, mostly real life, fannish, and arty stuff.
  • [personal profile] sqbr is where I discuss more difficult and meaty topics in an attempt at a safe space
  • Insanejournal and Journalfen are just for commenting.
  • Blogspot is my ollllld journal, and is not updated any more.


I try and think about things from a social justice standpoint, and that's one of the main purposes of this blog. I think it's important not to get too rigid about identities, and some of these are a bit fuzzy, but for context:
I'm a cisgendered woman.
I was born and live in Perth, Western Australia.
I'm white, a mix of Anglo, Eastern European and Jewish.
I have chronic fatigue syndrome to the extent that I can't work, and identify as disabled. (A rundown of my health issues) I also have a lot of food intolerances and can't walk up stairs without a lot of pain(*).
I'm married to [livejournal.com profile] distantcam and bisexual.
My parents are well educated lefty artist types working unskilled low-paid jobs, which makes me ambivalent about my class status.

I'm a science fiction fan, and am involved in local con-going fandom (Notes from panels I have run). I'm involved in online sff fanfic fandom too (My fanfic)

I draw a lot, including comics. (My art, my store and my comics)

I also make visual novels (art, writing, and coding, though my main project right now (early 2014) is a collaborative f/f steampunk vampire dating sim called Copper Rose)

I have a Phd in computational mathematics and love science, though I kind of burnt myself out talking about it after working in Science Communication for many years. (My maths page)

I'm an atheist, shading into agnostic around the edges.(My specific beliefs)

I'm very absent minded, so have probably forgotten some stuff :)

(*)These last two are less relevant to my blog and more things I like to mention as often as possible so that people don't invite me for wine and cheese at the top of a flight of stairs.